Board Members

2016-2018 Board Members

President: Marina Damiano, PhD, Damiano Group. Coordinates the business of the chapter, presides at all chapter and executive board meetings and represents AWIS Chicago at national meetings.

Past President: Karen Chien, PhD

VP for Finance: Barbara Di Eugenio, PhD, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois Chicago. Manages the accounting of the chapter’s budget, handles revenues and disbursements.

VP for Communications: Rashika Rangaraj, PhD, University of Chicago. Record the activities of the chapter, update the website and publicize meetings and events. Communicate with other area science institutions about programming.

VP for Outreach: Jessica Hoch, PhD, Northwestern University. Coordinates youth service and outreach activities for the chapter.

Newsletter Editor: Karen Watters, PhD, University of Chicago. Prepares and publishes the AWIS Chicago biannual newsletter.

Programming Chair: Jasmine Harris, University of Illinois Chicago

Head of Industry Liaison: Ana Shulla-Mesi, PhD, Abbott. Coordinates the programming activities of the chapter (e.g. career development workshops, social activities, award ceremonies, panel discussions) as well as acting Science Chicago Liaison.

VP for Membership: Andrei S. Halavaty, PhD, RMMS LLC . Manages the AWIS Chicago membership list and recruitment/retention of members.

Open Chairperson Positions

Want to keep yourself up-to-date on AWIS Chicago activities? Follow AWIS Chicago on Twitter! You can join the AWIS Chicago group on LinkedIn and Facebook by clicking the icons on the bottom right of this page.

2017 AWIS-Chicago Innovator:
Ramille Shah, Ph.D
Northwestern University

2017 AWIS-Chicago Motivator:
Jini Ramprakash, MBA, M.Sc.
Argonne National Laboratory